Albert Harrison of Moscow set a new course record with a finishing time of 43 minutes, 47.64 seconds in the annual 13-mile Just for the Hill of it race held in WhiteBird, Idaho, over the weekend.

Second-place finisher Shawn Howard’s time of 46:01.44 was also faster than the previous course record of 46:44:15, which had stood since 2003.

Forty-seven riders registered for the event, with 39 finishing.


Top 20 finishers — 1. Albert Harrison, 43:47.64; 2. Shawn Howard, 46:01.44; 3. Matt Morra 50:11.31; 4. Cory Nelson, 51:08.38; 5. Michael Giordanengo, 53:19.40; 6. William McPherson, 56:18.89; 7. Erik Bowen, 56:59.81; 8. Kaleb Bass, 58:05.90; 9. Scott Whiteley, 1:03:57.53; 10. Jared Hopkins, 1:05:49.52; 11. Allie Wooderchak, 1:09:34.36; 12. Justin Covey, 1:10:09.40; 13. Bill Kerr, 1:10:57.84; 14. John Coy, 1:11:37.19; 15. Wyatt Griffis 1:15:37.58; 16. John Widenoja 1:18:57.98; 17. Michelle Weitz, 1:22:38.81; 18. Karen Ruklic, 1:27:19.77; 19. Judd Conley, 1:31:02.15; 20. Shannon Nelson, 1:38:04.40.

WSU sends 38 to All-Academic team

SAN FRANCISCO — A total of 38 Washington State track and field athletes were named to the 2019 Pac-12 All-Academic teams when the league announced the award recipients Tuesday morning.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 minimum grade-point-average, a year under their belt at their current institution and they must be a “significant contributor” to the team.

The Cougars sent the conference’s third-most selections to the list, behind Washington (41) and Stanford (39).

First team — Stacia Bell, Emily Coombs, Kaili Keefe, Grace Victor.

Second team — Lita Forse, Samantha King-Shaw.

Honorable mentions — Kiyena Beatty, Josie Brown, Chrisshnay Brown, Calahan Crawford, Katelyn Frost, Regyn Gaffney, Marie Gaudin, Jelena Grujic, Zorana Grujic, Melissa Hruska, Kaitlin Krouse, Aoife Martin, Pia Richards, Molly Scharmann, Lindsey Schauble, Tierney Silliman, Desi Stinger, Jordyn Tucker, Lovely Tukuafu.

First team — Andrew Cooper, Ethan Gardner, Troy Gingerich, Kyler Little, Ray Littles, Drew Norvell.

Second team — Cameron Dean.

Honorable mentions — Ja’Maun Charles, Peyton Fredrickson, Justin Janke, Paul Ryan, Nathan Wadhwani, Matthew Watkins.

Twenty-three WSU rowers to all-academic team

SAN FRANCISCO — A total of 23 on the Washington State women’s rowing team earned Pac-12 All-Academic accolades, Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott announced Tuesday.

Leading the Cougs with a 4.0 grade-point-average in electrical engineering is senior three-time honoree Paige Danielson.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 minimum GPA, have competed in at least half of competitions and be in her second academic year at the institution.

First team — Paige Danielson, Rachael Christman, Renee Kemp, Ivy Elling Quaintance, Ony Chigozie, Isabella Cristelli, Emily Austin, Abigail Linnenkohl, Chloe White, Katelyn Ware, Hannah Welzbacker.

Second team — Kamila Ondrackova, Emma Barrett, Ella Cowan, Linnea Davison, Sara Brevick, Kailey Kassuba.

Honorable mentions — Nora Hefte, Sue Yu, Grace Arnis, Emily Weible, Cassidy Thompson, Madeleine Bingham.